Pages Navigation Menu

Food allergy education, advocacy, and support

Airline Access to Epinephrine Takes Flight


New legislation was co-sponsored by Virginia’s very own Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) in the form of the Airline Access to Emergency Epinephrine Act (S. 1972).  This bill directs the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) to generate a national report examining airline policies for accommodating passengers with food allergies, and would require airlines to carry epinephrine auto-injectors for use in allergic emergencies.

The Airline Access to Emergency Epinephrine Act, also co-sponsored by Sens . Mark Kirk (R-IL), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Ben Cardin (D-MD), contains the following provisions:

  • directs the GAO to compile a report on air carrier policies relating to passengers with food allergies.
  • specifies this report should cover a range of topics important to the food allergy community:
    • including the content and variability of existing accommodation policies
    • how those policies are applied
    • how staff are trained to carry them out
    • how passengers learn about and utilize them
    • explore the incidence of in-flight reactions and emergency landings
    • costs of emergency landings
    • resources required to develop model accommodation policies
  • directs the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) and individual airlines to clarify treatment procedures of anaphylaxis
  • directs airlines to carry epinephrine auto-injectors
  • calls for the flight crew to be trained in acute allergic reaction symptom recognition and how to give epinephrine via an auto-injector

The news of this bill is especially exciting to FASGOT board members; they contacted Senator Warner’s office personally and asked him to co-sponsor the bill — and he did!  This is a big show of support for our organization and the food allergy population we serve.  THANK YOU SENATOR WARNER!


For more information about the Airline Access to Emergency Epinephrine Act and to get involved, visit

To read the full-text of the bill on the congress.gove website, click here.